of undeniable race and distinctions

It felt odd to be judged solely and exactly by the features of your face and your skin tone. Before I went on my Asia trip, I wasn’t conscious of how diverse we looked from other south-east asian inhabitants. To me, a European is a European and an Asian is an Asian (syntax killer). In my well-deserved ignorance, I didn’t see the point of making a distinction anyway.

As soon as I stepped inside the jetty port lobby, I heard a distinct “ Kababayan. Dito kayo!” . And I felt an instantaneous grin form in my face. There really is nothing better, more reassuring, more heartening as seeing a friendly Kababayan (then again immediately after that smile appeared, words started slowly parading inside my brain – “Misled tourists. Theft. Murdered. Rape. Forced Slaves” – just some common things that have been associated to my friendly Kababayans). I wonder what gave my nationality away, we have the same skin color and facial features in this region anyway. Hmm. Must be my short shorts then.

What do you have to say?

